Tom Murphy reports from Westwood Road…

Marine exited the FA Trophy at the hands of St Ives Town in what was a lacklustre performance. 

Goals from Jordan Williams, Jonny Edwards and Michael Richens were enough to crush The Mariners. 

The game got off to the worst possible start after St Ives’ centre back Williams glanced his header on target and over a scrambling Felix Goddard. 

Edwards then added a second on 35 after Dan Barton did brilliantly along the left hand side to deliver it on a plate for the striker. 

The 17 year old and Myles Cowling were the two standouts of the encounter who controlled the midfield in both attacking and defensive aspects throughout the game. 

If it wasn’t for Chris Doyle clearing the ball off the line, the scoreline could have been much worse before the break. 

After a poor first half performance Neil Young’s side showed some fight for the second 45 minutes. 

The away side were on top for the remainder of the game. If it wasn’t for Cowling, a regenerated Sol Solomon may well have scored just 10 minutes into the second half. 

The Mariners eventually did grab one back thanks to Willem Tomlinson whose powerful effort nestled into Brearey’s net. 

Marine were then on top until the final whistle creating of plenty of chances that could have levelled things up. 

Osei who struck the post and substitute Mampala saw chances go begging, but they were unable to find the back of the net. 

With the away team pressing high up field, Goddard’s clearance was only able to find St Ives skipper Michael Richens who was able to guide the ball into the empty net from the centre circle. 

The Mariners will now return home next Saturday where they host League Two Harrogate in the First Round of the FA Cup. 

St Ives Town: 1 Eddie Brearey, 2 Peter Abimbola, 3 Aaron Smith, 4 Michael Richens, 5 Jordan Williams, 6 Paddy Casey,  7 Dan Barton (Ed Hottor 69′), 8 Myles Cowling (Luke Harris 88′), 9 Jonny Edwards (Tiago Nassuncolo 88′), 10 Brandon Njoku, 18 Josh Tomlinson
Unused Subs: 12 Fernando Bell-Toxtle, 16 Charlie Johnson. 

Marine: 1 Felix Goddard, 2 Joseph Ferguson, 3 Michael Carberry, 4 Willem Tomlinson, 5 Chris Doyle, 6 Josh Wardle, 7 Finlay Sinclair-Smith, 8 Louis White, 9 Darius Osei (Manasse Mampala 69′), 10 Sol Solomon,  11 Liam Nolan (Jordan Lussey 45′)
Unused Subs: 12 Kyle Hayde, 13 Richard Cowderoy

Attendance: 279

Leave a comment